for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Jesus THE verb

Jesus in the Word

Jesus in the Word (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For the last month we have been learning Spanish.  This week we were learning the Spanish version of Jesus loves me.  In discussing the translation I asked what the Spanish word for Word used in John 1 was.  In Spanish they do not translate the original to their version of “word” which would be palabra. They translate it to verbo.  Which in English is verb. I found that fascinating.

John 1:1-5: In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  He was with God in the beginning.  Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made.  In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind.  The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

FYI and strong DISCLAIMER…I graduated from ONU with a degree in Biology, minor in Chem and psych.  There was no grammar minor or English or sentence structure.  Hence my lack of proper usage of words.  Anywho…I am still fascinated that in Spanish the “word” was translated “verbo.”  As most of you know one can’t have a sentence without a verb or a noun.  If you have a sentence without a verb it would be considered incomplete. I think that is a rich analogy for us with Christ.  All of mankind is the noun in a sentence and Jesus is our verb. We are incomplete without him.  We are fragmented.  Lucky for us Jesus is our Savior.

That is not all though.  Its deeper than that.  We all know that He loves us just as we are, meets us where we’re at, and calls us to move just as we are, but He doesn’t leave us where He found us.  He might take our hand, give us a swift kick in the behind, or carry us on the road to His kingdom.

Lets examine what verbs do. In my brief research of verbs I have concluded that they are complex and have a vast job description.  Kind of like Jesus.  The few I want to magnify and use in this analogy of Jesus as a verb are lexicon verbs, auxiliary verbs, and linking verbs.

Jesus is the lexicon verb.  He doesn’t need us to help Him.  He is “I AM.” We desperately need him to help us though. We are the helping verb, The sentence would be fine without us, but Jesus gives us a place in His kingdom and allows our help. How has Jesus asked you to help in His Kingdom?  Are you obeying without Delay?  (One of my favorite phrases “Obey without Delay” Thanks to Casey Manes for that.)

The Auxiliary verb is used to form the tenses, moods, and voices of other verbs. Jesus SHOULD be our auxiliary verb at all times.  I am guilty just as everyone else of forgetting that.  Often times I just react with my emotions and words and do not surrender them to Him first.  In allowing Jesus to take our emotions, thoughts, and words and running them through His filter.  This allows us to be filled with His grace, love, and mercy.  Only then will we be able to extend that same grace, love, and mercy to others. Dan Bohi says to live in the Voice, and I think that is great, but for this analogy I say live in the Verb.

The last verb I want to dive into is the linking verb or Copular verb.  This verb joins the subject to a complement.  I’m going to keep this simple because I’m no expert in the English language just ask Mark Simon.  What does Jesus want to link you to?

Do you sense His urging you in a direction?

Do you feel a tugging at your soul?

Is there a burden that is weighing on your heart?

Or maybe you don’t know this Jesus I speak of, if you don’t be curious and seek out who he is and what he has for you.

The following are the websites I used for my refresher on grammer

http://www.grammar-monster.com/lessons/verbs.htm

http://grammar.about.com/od/irregularverbs/a/Ten-Types-Of-Verbs.htm

http://grammar.about.com/od/il/g/linkverbterm05.htm

https://www.google.com/search?q=auxiliary+verb+definition&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Pretty Itty Bitty

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Swords and Strollers

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Worship Without Worries

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

