for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Selfishness

Picture A Day December 17, 2009 - Three Mile C...

Picture A Day December 17, 2009 – Three Mile Crossing on the Medina River (Photo credit: mlhradio)

So I like to think that I am a nice, kind, compassionate, and thoughtful person.  When I look at some other people in my life I can score pretty high in those categories.  I then feel pretty good about myself.  I think I am good.  I am making a difference in the world.  Then as I was driving to the grocery store the words of this song and the Holy Spirit spoke truth to my soul.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dd4inM0Dnr0

I realized that I would not take the place of Jesus on the cross.  Not willingly at least.  I might not be selfish in many areas, but there is still selfishness within me and much more than I realized. The Holy Spirit reminded me that I am no better than anyone else.  We all have our insecurities; our Achilles heels, our own selfishness and pride.  Jesus is the only sinless man who would suffer because He loves us so much.  And the truth is, He loves ALL of us.  EVERY. ONE. OF. US.

Abba father forgive my selfishness.  Holy Spirit invade my heart, my mind, and my soul and rid me of my self so that there is more room for my Lord.  Let it not be me who makes a difference, but Christ in me that is the difference.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Pretty Itty Bitty

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Swords and Strollers

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Worship Without Worries

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

