for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

opinions…

I was told once that opinions are like (insert colorful language) buttholes…every one has one and they all stink.

For the most part I agree with this statement.  Especially when people share their unsolicited opinions.  I realize there is going to be some irony here.  I am writing about not liking most opinions, and yet what is a blog???…but someones opinions for public view.  I say…you don’t have to read it.  By agreeing to read you are asking for their opinion.

For those of you who know me well, the following might just shock you.  I am somewhat bold at times.  I tend to speak my mind at times.  I am very passionate when speaking about certain topics.  I can be very intense at times.  And yes there are rare occasions in which that gentle, quiet spirit that is referenced in the bible takes over.  Its not very often though.  I’m sure every high school has their list of accolades for the senior class.  WELL…I was voted most quiet…NOT try most outspoken.  Needless to say I am not afraid to open my mouth.  Sometimes good comes of it, sometimes its just me figuring out this thing called life, and other times it can be down right ugly.

One of our Pastors, Pastor Cindi,  was starting a sermon series on The Lord’s prayer.  It was a great sermon in which she challenged us to add “as it is in Heaven” to our prayers.   God really spoke to me in a different way, and that is what I want to share.  What resonated with me was not where Pastor Cindi was going, but where she started her sermon.

She began with the scripture right before the Lord’s prayer.  Luke 11:1, “One day Jesus was praying in a certain place. When he finished, one of his disciples said to him, “Lord, teach us to pray, just as John taught his disciples.”I thought and pondered for the next few days.  I prayed as I usually do, or would try to.  I added the “as it is in heaven” and I felt like I was growing closer to the Lord and learning more about life with Him.  I have been praying and asking that God would guard my heart.  The He would help me not take things so personal.  That He would help me to not have hurt feelings.

The Whole Town's Talking

The Whole Town’s Talking (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One morning as I was praying about this, I was overcome with a thought.  It was a very clear thought…like God speaking in my thoughts.  And it was this, “If He, Jesus, who has all the RIGHT answers and opinions, and all the PERFECT wisdom WAITED until He was asked, who are you to speak without first asking me?”  I was so humbled and He was right.  It was quickly followed by this, “I can guard your heart better, when you let me tame your tongue.”

So this is where I’m at folks.  I am trying to only speak that which God wants me to speak.  I really thought this would be very difficult for me.  Honestly though, the more I pray and talk with Him, the more

freedom I have to just be quiet.  Don’t get me wrong, I think I will still talk a lot, but I am going to try my best to let God filter it first.

What is God asking you to surrender?  Mine was thinking that everyone needed to know what I know, but guess what, they don’t!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Pretty Itty Bitty

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Swords and Strollers

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Worship Without Worries

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

