for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

FAITH

I started reading a devotional on Elisha’s Ridiculous Faith. I must say I am enjoying it. Today’s devotion has really challenged what I think about my life of prayer and faith.

It focused on the passage in 2 Kings 4:38-44.  Elisha cleansed the poisoned food in the pot with flour and then feed 100 men with 20 loaves.  Those are pretty cool miracles, but what has been keeping my mind turning is that Elisha never stopped to pray or specifically ask God to cleanse the soup or multiply the bread.  He just knows that God will cleanse to soup.  In verse 43 Elisha answers his servant’s question or doubting faith, “Do it because the Lord says, “They will eat and have some left over.”

I am just baffled and humbled.  Elisha knew God so well, He was so intimate with God that he didn’t even need to ask.  I know throughout the bible there are all sorts of examples of types of prayer and patterns of prayer.  I know there are many miracles Jesus performed praying and not praying.  I think the lynch pin is faith.  A woman was healed just by touching the tassels on Jesus garment because of her faith.  Elisha had “ridiculous” faith in God.

I need to have faith like that.  I want to have a faith like that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VaVg0cWkgAw

Abba, help me to have faith in you.  Forgive my lack of faith, forgive my doubt.  Forgive my unbelief.  Lord help me to step out in faith.  Lord strip away the lies in my mind and my heart.  Replace them with your truth.  Teach me O Lord to hear Your voice of truth and love. Help me to live my life believing and trusting Your goodness, Your grace, Your mercy, and YOUR FAITHFULNESS.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Pretty Itty Bitty

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Swords and Strollers

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Worship Without Worries

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

