for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Ignorance is NOT bliss

We’ve all heard the phrase that “Ignorance is bliss.”  Well at first thought or application it might be, but upon closer examination I have come to the conclusion that it is NOT.

God tells His people throughout the entire bible to seek His wisdom.  We are to seek His wisdom about all aspects of life.   There are a plethora of examples of people seeking God about food choices, body choices, living choices, money choices, time choices…and the list could go on.

Our family has made some very different choices in the past.  We have decided to home-birth 2 of our 3 children, we have chosen not to receive every vaccine as prescribed, we have chosen not to do ear tubes, we have chosen to eat gluten-free, we have chosen to homeschool our children.  With all of these choices, we have felt God give us wisdom with which to make these choices.

I wasn’t always as aware that every choice has a consequence, as I am right now.  (We are emphasizing reality discipline in our home)  So as I have had discussions with God’s people and ponder these ideas in my head.  I run them through my God filter.  I have so much clarity in the next profound idea.

Ignorance is NOT bliss.  Ignorance is a choice to not abide in God’s wisdom.  I’m not saying its a salvation issue, but I do think it can become a relationship issue.  God gave us free will.  We have the power to choose to seek Him.  We have the choice to align our lives with His wisdom, or that of our culture.  I am choosing to believe that if I choose ignorance I will miss out on blessings God has for my life.  I will miss physical, emotional, and mental healings.  I will miss opportunities to commune with His people, I will miss opportunities to serve Him.  I will miss financial/provisional blessings.

Question mark butterfly

Question mark butterfly (Photo credit: Henry McLin)

The worst consequence will be to miss out on the intimacy He wants to have with me.

There is hope!!!  Just because we might have chosen ignorance in the past, doesn’t mean we have to continue that choice.  God has given us the FREEDOM to choose His wisdom at any time.  God’s forgiveness is greater than we can fathom.  He is just waiting to give it to us.  All we have to do is choose to align our lives with His wisdom.

Abba, thank you for loving me enough to patiently wait for me to come to you.   Thank you for your forgivness, your grace, your mercy.  Most of all thank you for the wisdom you give me, to make choices that bring you glory!!!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Pretty Itty Bitty

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Swords and Strollers

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

Worship Without Worries

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

for the men in my life

Sharing what God lays on my heart.

